Skål USA Honors

skallogoSkål Honors


Membres d’Honneur Recipients from Skål USA
Nicolas Keglevich – SI Miami
Gerard Martin – SI Baltimore
Charles Powers – SI New York
William C. Sweet – SI Colorado
Lou Conkling – SI Louisville
Schuyler Lininger – SI Tucson
Carlos R. Banks –  SI Ft. Lauderdale & the Palm Beaches
William (Bill) Moyer –  SI Washington DC

Skål Ambassador from Skål USA
2020 Roger Dow – SI Washington DC

Honorary President Skål International from Skål USA
2001 Charles F. Lawson – SI Cleveland

Past President’s of Skål International from Skål USA

1955-1956 Ivan Bullot – SI New York
1959-1960 Godfrey MacDonald – SI New York
1962-1963 Thomas Williamson – SI New York
1965-1966 Charles F. Lawson – SI Cleveland
1969-1970 Alfred R. Bone – SI Los Angeles
1975-1976 Joseph M. Boggs – SI Miami
1983-1984 Gerard J. Martin – SI Baltimore
1987-1988 George Webber – SI Louisville
1990-1991 John McCaul – SI Chicago
2012-2013 Mok Singh – SI Los Angeles

Skål International Order of Merit Recipients from Skål USA
2001 William Chapman – SI Boston
2001 William C. Sweet – SI Colorado
2011 Bernhard Clever – SI Los Angeles
2013 John Ruzich – SI New York
2014 Nahid Olfati – SI San Francisco
2016 Burcin Turkkan – SI Atlanta
2019 Holly Powers – SI  Boston
Skål USA Member of Distinction (2018 William C Sweet Award)
2011 Malcolm Pynn – SI Santa Fe
2017 Thomas White – SI Orlando
2017 Carlos Banks – SI Ft. Lauderdale & the Palm Beaches
2018 Ian Sauer – SI Raleigh-Durham
2019 David Colella  – SI Boston
2020 Alton Hagen  – SI Kansas City
2021 Valerie Davis  – SI Hawaii
Skål USA National Tourism Leadership Award
2018 Christopher L. Thompson – SI Washington DC, Brand USA
2020 Roger Dow – SI Washington DC, U.S. Travel Association
1969-1971  Joseph M. Boggs – SI Miami
1971-1973  Henry Von Sieber – SI Houston
1973-1974  Gerard J. Martin –  SI Baltimore
1974-1975  Gerard J. Martin – SI Baltimore
1975-1976  Luis de la Reguerra – SI Dallas
1976-1977  Charles H. Harris – SI Cleveland
1977-1978  Melvin S. Smith – SI Miami
1978-1979  Al O. Bennett – SI San Francisco
1979-1980  George W. Webber – SI Louisville
1980-1981  Morton C. Treadway Jr. – SI Hartford
1981-1982  Willard A. Olson – SI Las Vegas
1982-1983  William C. Sweet – SI Denver
1983-1984  John P. McCaul – SI Chicago
1984-1985  Michael J. Feeney – SI Buffalo
1985-1986  Schuyler W. Lininger – SI Tucson
1986-1987  Marvin K. Hand – SI San Francisco
1987-1988  Arthur J. Moreau – SI Detroit
1988-1989  Joseph T. Neary – SI New York
1989-1990  William Pullen – SI The Palm Beaches
1990-1991  Eugene F. Leonard – SI Chicago
1991-1992  Jay T. Beagle -SI Los Angeles
1992-1993  Donald R. Maitland – SI Boston
1993-1994  David G. Ashcraft – SI Chicago
1994-1995  Jerome R. Sheehan – SI Chicago
1995-1996  William A. Lindsay – SI Indianapolis
1996-1997  Charles E. Boos – SI Spokane
1997-1998  Charles W. Powers – SI New York
1998-1999  Dennis A. Klatt – SI Columbus
1999-2000  Samuel C. Johns, Jr. – SI Tampa Bay
2000-2001   Edward C. Antognoli – SI San Francisco
2001-2002   Richard C. Anderson – SI Sarasota
2002-2003   Thomas S. Shinar – SI Orange Coast
2003-2004   Mike Kyle – SI Nashville
2004-2005   John H. Bogrette, Jr. – SI Central Pennsylvania
2005-2006   Ronny Region – SI Ft. Worth
2006-2007   Mok Singh – SI Los Angeles
2007-2008   Bob Bader – SI Memphis
2008-2009  Bobby Husain – SI New York
2009-2010   Jeff Penner – SI Oklahoma
2010-2011    Lou Conkling – SI Louisville
2011-2012    Llana Smith – SI Memphis
2012                Llana Smith – SI Memphis
2013                Tom White – SI Orlando
2014                Carlos R. Banks – SI Ft. Lauderdale & the Palm Beaches
2015                Martha McClintock- SI Jacksonville
2016                John N. Mavros – SI Orange Coast
2017                Holly Powers – SI Boston
2018                Burcin Turkkan – SI Atlanta
2019                Lisa Conway – SI  New York
2020               Dave Ryan – SI  Sacramento
2021                Jim Dwyer – SI  New Jersey
Honorary President of SIUSA

Skål International By-Laws, ARTICLE I, Section 1 (h) provides for acknowledging outstanding performance on the part of an Active, Retired or Life Member who has been a member of Skål for at least ten (10) years.  The Clubs of SIUSA may recognize such members by proposing that they be honored with the title of “Honorary President of SIUSA” or “Honorary Member of SIUSA”, and that the name of the honoree be listed in the SIUSA roster and in this Manual. The following Skålleagues have received the title of “Honorary President of SIUSA”:

Alfred R. Bone
SI Los Angeles
Posthumously elected Honorary
President at the NSCUSA Congress
April 16-18, 1971
Joseph M. Boggs,
SI Miami
Elected Honorary President
January 1, 1977
Charles F. Lawson
SI Cleveland
Elected Honorary President
February 15, 1977
Al O. Bennett
SI San Francisco
Elected Honorary President
July 31, 1970
Herbert D. Ford
SI Washington
Elected Honorary President
February 20, 1980
Gerald J. Martin
SI Baltimore
Elected Honorary President
April 30, 1982
George W. Webber
SI Louisville
Elected Honorary President
May 13, 1987
John P. McCaul
SI Chicago
Elected Honorary President
May 16, 1992
William Sweet
SI Colorado
Elected Honorary President
May 15, 2005
John H. Bogrette, Jr.
SI Central Pennsylvania
Elected Honorary President
May 9, 2009

This prestigious award is granted to one Skål Club each year from among all of the Clubs worldwide through a competitive judging process based on the Club’s administrative performance,  growth and participation to Skål.

All Skål Clubs worldwide who meet the qualifying requirements listed below are invited to participate.

Clubs that wish to be considered for this award must submit information supporting the criteria below to the SKÅL International Administrators and SKÅL VP of Administration Burcin Turkkan at Skå by January 1st. Early submissions are appreciated.


  • Payment of Club membership fees to Skål International before February 28 deadline.
  • Submission of Club membership list to Skål International before March 31 deadline.
  • Remittance of Form 2 (update of Club’s Officers) to Skål International before April 15 deadline.
  • A net increase of 10% in membership or a minimum of 10 new Active members for larger Clubs over one calendar year. As measured from April 30 to April 30 each year.
  • Providing an attending voting delegate at two Skål World Congresses over the past five years.
  • A donation to the Florimond Volckaert Fund within the past year.
Past SI Club of the Year Winners from the U.S.A.

1989-1990 SI New York

1991-1992 SI Chicago

1999-2000 SI Los Angeles

2004-2005 SI Miami

2006-2007 SI Orlando

2013-2014 SI Boston

Click here to view other past winners

SKÅL USA Finalist ClubS of the Year Presentations 

2018 Northern New Jersey (SI Club of the Year – 3rd Place)

SI Ft. Lauderdale & the Palm Beaches’ Presentation – 2015

SI Tucson’s Presentation – 2015 (SI Club of the Year 3rd Place)

SI Boston’s Presentation – 2014 (SI Club of the Year)

Congratulations to all Skål Club of the Year Finalists!


The purpose of the award is to honor the Skål USA Club which, best exemplifies the spirit of Skål and has achieved the objectives of the Skål Movement, during the Calendar year. This award will be next presented at the 2019 NASC, recognizing the performance of a Club in 2019.


  • In order to qualify for Skål USA Club of the Year, a club must stay in good standing, maintaining a membership of no less than 15 members.


The winning club will receive a single registration to the NASC Congress (in the year awarded) or $1,000 to be used for a club event.

2020 Winner – SI Philadelphia

2019 SI New Jersey
SI San 
2017 SI Hawaii
2016 SI Arkansas
2015 SI Ft. Lauderdale & the Palm Beaches